Click to Call Now!919-233-0520

Triangle Area (919) 233-0520 Triad Area (336) 285-6044

Blog Categories

Think You Know The Traffic Laws Of North Carolina?

We were chatting with a friend the other day and were startled to realize how little they knew about the traffic laws in NC. It got us thinking… perhaps there are other residents of the Tarheel state who could use a traffic law refresher.

So, to help our good friend, as well as any other North Carolinians lacking a firm knowledge of the laws governing our roads, we created this NC traffic law cheat sheet. Follow along below to brush up on your road savvy and make our roads safer across the state!

Fender Bender Law (NCGS §20-161)

This law requires you to move your vehicle over to the shoulder if you are in a fender bender where there are no injuries and the car is movable. If you don’t you could face court costs of up to $110.

Move Over Law (NCGS §20-157)

You are required, if possible, to move over one lane or slow your speed for stopped emergency vehicles with flashing lights on the shoulder of the highway, including public service vehicles with amber lights. Violating the law could result in a $250 fine.

Quick Clearance Law (NCGS §20-161)

Vehicles cannot be left in the roadway. If law enforcement and NCDOT agree that a vehicle and its cargo pose a safety concern, they can move it by any means necessary without facing any liability.

NC Litter Law (NCGS §20-399)

It is illegal to dispose of litter and trash on public or private property. Fines can be up to $200 and involve community service.

Driving While Impaired (NCGS §20-138.1)

A driver with a blood alcohol level greater than .08 percent will be charged with driving while impaired. Maximum punishment is a possible fine up to $4,000 and a possible prison term of 30 days to 2 years.

Want to learn more about NC traffic laws?

For additional information on North Carolina laws, contact the expert attorneys at the Law Office of D. Hardison Wood today!

This entry was posted in Car Safety.
Lawyer Cary